W.T. Harkness and the Peoples Bank Building of Biloxi, Mississippi – Mystery Solved!

Posted on Updated on

Interesting blog post to share. Great job by “misspreservation.com!

https://misspreservation.com/2019/06/11/who-designed-biloxis-peoples-bank/

 


My comment about the post…”W.T. Harkness’ father was J.R. (John Rankin) Harkness, an architect by education from Pelham, Massachusetts. J.R. Harkness was my Great Great Grandfather. The family was a Biloxi pioneer family who built many of the Biloxi buildings long since gone and undocumented as told to me personally by my Great Aunt Stella, J.R.’s daughter. 

Perhaps you ran across that newspaper clipping from my blog here on Word Press? I have researched and posted extensively about the Harkness family. I grew up knowing, thanks to Aunt Stella, the Harkness family built the building known as the People’s Bank. I can assure you no tantrums were at issue in this family’s history as they were instrumental in the progress of their beloved Biloxi.
My blog is The Tenderly Rose Collection. That is where that newspaper clipping was originally posted about W.T. Harkness. It had never been available until I began my documentation of the Harkness pioneers.”

3 thoughts on “W.T. Harkness and the Peoples Bank Building of Biloxi, Mississippi – Mystery Solved!

    toniclifton said:
    January 22, 2022 at 4:08 am

    The building in question appears to be the remodled Lopez building designed by W. T. Hartness… remodled because a fire swept through the Biloxi residental and the business district in 1900. The fire destroyed the 1890 Lopez home that your great-great- grandfather J. R. Hartness had contracted to build. Checkout the Lopez building as it was before the 1900 fire:The Biloxi Herald, 20AUG1898,Sat. Page 5.
    All I know is what I read in the papers.

    Liked by 1 person

      TRose responded:
      January 22, 2022 at 8:31 am

      Thank you so much for your comment! Great information! I don’t have access to those old articles, so, I appreciate your sharing it! I am in touch with a good friend and distant cousin who is a Lopez-Dukate descendant.

      Like

        toniclifton said:
        January 23, 2022 at 1:43 am

        I found this information and photo at newspapers.com.

        Like

Leave a comment