“Second Mamas” at U. S. M.

Posted on Updated on

During my first year of life as Tenderly Rose Bosworth, I was part of the Home Economics Dept. The students took care of me as part of their studies. My mother continued her studies there at the University of Southern Mississippi in Hattiesburg. (then Mississippi Southern College)that year, living in a dorm. I stayed in the Home Ec. building. It is possible I earned a degree in Home Ec before I was a year old.

T. Rose at U. S. M. as Home Ec baby
Just another day for Tenderly Rose as Home Economics baby with Mississippi Southern College students learning the tasks of homemaking. 1957
My Second Mamas at USM 1957
A page from my baby book. As the “Home Economics Baby” at Univ. of Southern Mississippi, I had many “mamas” who took care of me day and night.
Mississippi Southern College student, Janie Morris Bosworth with daughter Tenderly Rose 1957
Mississippi Southern College Home Economic student with Tenderly Rose 1957
USM Tenderly Rose and Home Economics Dept Students 1957
Southern Mississippi, Hattiesburg, MS 1957 – Tenderly Rose with Home Economics Students. T. Rose was part of the curriculum.
Football Player at USM with TR
Univ. of Southern Mississippi 1957 – Football player with Tenderly Rose.

Momma often told me the story of football players at Southern spending time with me while waiting around for their girlfriends to finish up classes. She told me it was said that “The way to a girl’s heart is through Tenderly Rose”. I was never lacking for attention!

T. Rose - U. S. M. 1957

Tenderly Rose U.S.M.
T. Rose Wearing a “Mississippi Southern College” Sweatshirt.

 

Leave a comment