Little Sissy

Posted on Updated on

Mary Elizabeth Morris
Little Sissy’s Post-mortem photograph
Mary Elizabeth Morris
“Sissie” – Evergreen Cemetery, Gulfport, Harrison County, Mississippi
Morris Child Dies
Little Sissy-Biloxi Daily Herald September 16, 1929

“Little Sissy” was my aunt, my mother’s sister. I visited her grave many, many times in the family plot located in Evergreen Cemetery in Gulfport, Mississippi, when I was growing up. I held my grandmother’s hand as we sat next to her grave and listened to her talk about her. She was the first child she gave birth to. I was told she “fell off the porch” and died. She stays in my heart even today. My mother told me that as a little girl, I reminded my grandmother of “Little Sissy”. 

One thought on “Little Sissy

    Amy said:
    June 29, 2017 at 5:16 pm

    How terribly sad.

    Like

Leave a Reply

